Changes in Finote Selam

When returning to Ethiopia, as well as wanting to catch up with my friends, I was also keen to see how Finote Selam (the town I lived in for more than two years) had changed.

The most significant differences were at the Teachers’ College. When I left eighteen months ago, a new building had been constructed, but was unfinished. Lessons were taking place in the new classrooms, but all the other buildings were not yet open. Upon my return, it was good to see that the staff had moved into the administration block and the students were using the new library and hall. I was also particularly impressed with some amazing sculptures, which had been created by the art department, helping to make it a more pleasant environment. Inevitably, though, there was still more work that needed to be done. The computers were being run by a generator, as electricity had not yet been connected at the college. There was also no canteen for staff or students, although there were plans being made to set one up.

Whilst I was in Finote Selam, I also visited the old Teachers’ College for nostalgia sake! Sadly, the building was empty and the grounds were looking somewhat overgrown. There was some talk of it being turned into a school in the future. If this happens, that would be a very positive move.

In the town itself, there were also some changes. When I first arrived in February 2011, it was only the main road through the town which was tarmacked. All the side streets were made up of dirt tracks. It was good to see that now several of the side roads have been cobble stoned; this will make life a lot easier for the locals during the rainy season. When I left, a new bridge was being built over the River Lah. This has not yet been completed, but it has at least moved forward! The Government has recently set up a scheme whereby residents can build their own homes, as such there were several new houses in the town. There was also a new private school, lots of different shops and restaurants and the Commercial Bank (the main bank of Ethiopia) had moved to new premises.

It was good to see that development in Finote Selam is continuing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Changes in Finote Selam

  1. Chloe says:

    Wow. It’s always good to meet people who work in the same sector. I work in Adama Town in Ethiopia for teacher training but I don’t stay there but travel between Ethiopia and S. Korea đŸ™‚

  2. Will that bridge ever be finished?!!

  3. George Horn VSO Retired says:

    Hi James a Very Happy New year and a Very Happy Ethiopian Christmas. Incredibly it is nearly 38 years that I worked in Ethiopia as a VSO. It is good to see the changes that have taken place. Phyllis and I were able to visit Ethiopia in 2000 and visited my old Leprosy Control working area which included Finote Selam and Bury. Like you as a result of my work I was able to travel in different parts of Ethiopia. My base was Debra Markos. I also worked in Malawi being based in Chilumba near the Ugandan border. Your letters are interesting and make me feel nostalgic for Africa in particularly Ethiopia.Best wishes ,George Horn

    • jelford says:

      Hi George, Happy New Year to you. It was interesting to hear about the places you have worked. I am glad you are enjoying reading my blogs and that they are bringing back memories.

Leave a comment